man walking on Camino de Santiago

Camino del norte and camino lebaniego

Cantabria is the only region in Spain with two World Heritage pilgrimage routes: The Camino del Norte and the Camino Lebaniego.

Cantabria is home to the section of the Camino de Santiago known as the Camino del Norte (or “Northern Way”). It’s thought to be the first route used by pilgrims to reach the tomb of Saint James, making it the oldest of the Santiago routes. Its journey through Cantabria runs from Ontón to Unquera, passing through iconic locations such as Castro Urdiales, Laredo, Santoña, Santander, Santillana del Mar, Comillas and San Vicente de la Barquera.

As well as the Camino del Norte, Cantabria has its own pilgrimage route: the Camino Lebaniego. This camino runs for 72 kilometres, from San Vicente de la Barquera to the Monastery of Santo Toribio, which houses the Lignum Crucis and which celebrates a Jubilee Year whenever the 16 April falls on a Sunday; the next time will be in 2023.

More information at:

Add your opinion



All fields are required

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Some similar locations

More corners of Santander